Squad news for upcoming season

Squad news for upcoming season

The draft for Tamil Nadu Premier League season 3 took place on 30th May. Chepauk Super Gillies are more or less a mixture of young and experienced players in the bag. Rajagopal Sathish, Sai Kishore, Thalaivan Sargunam, Antony Dhas, Vasanth Saravanan and Yo Mahesh are some of the departures this season.

The one time winners already retained three players – S Karthik, Alexander and Sasidev not allowing them to take place in the draft which proved to be a breathtaking tussle between teams battling for talents across the state.

Hemang Badani’s side started their first round draft by acquiring the services of Tamil Nadu’s captain Vijay Shankar. The right-hander excelled well for the Indian Premier League side Delhi Daredevils and looks to maintain that form. When Murugan Ashwin’s name was heard, Chepauk only needed to add the Royal Challengers Spinner to their roaster.

Leading scorer the Gillies last season, Gopinath was the second batsmen to be picked by the defending champions. Spinner Arun Kumar and all rounder Rahul were retained by the draft for the upcoming season.

Chepauk wrapped up Harish Kumar. His performances for Kovai last season was the further evidence that he could bat and bowl during crunch situations. Former Dindigul Dragons opener Ganga Sridhar Raju was the next name in the line followed by all rounders Sunny Kumar Singh and Samruddh Bhat. Former Lyca Kovai Kings bowlers Arun B and Siddarth M were picked up the defending champions. In addition to this, Aarif, MK Siva Kumar, Manav Parakh and Sai Sudharsan were added to the roaster. The tournament is due to start on July 11th and ends on 12th of August.

SQUAD: Vijay Shankar, S Karthik, Sasidev, Alexander, M Ashwin, Gopinath, Arun Kumar, Rahul, Harish Kumar, Ganga Shridhar Raju, Sunny Kumar Singh, Samruddh Bhat, Arun B, Siddarth M, Aarif, MK Siva Kumar, Manav Parakh, Sai Sudharsan.